top of page

< Part 2 > What I Know or Assume

Before shadowing a nurse in the Emergency Room, I as not fully aware of the many tasks that nurses endure and the many difficult aspects of nursing. Because of this, I assume that the majority of the world does not fully comprehend the things that nurses do while on the job.

I would guess that the majority of the world understands that nurses take orders from doctors, give medicine to patients, take vital signs, and sometimes have to clean up after patients, but I would also assume that the most people do not consider that nurses have to converse with patients at least a little bit and therefore must undergo the effects of patients' emotions and the negative effects of their pain or discomfort. I would also assume that the majority of the population does not consider that nurses and doctors converse often and have to try to get along with each other so that they can successfully work together and help the patients in the best ways possible.


bottom of page